Materials and/or supplies, parts, fuels, etc. inventories, end of year ($1,000)
Term · Economic statistics · MLC-T-ECS-001139
The total value of merchandise inventories owned on December 31st of the reporting year (and/or the prior year if applicable), regardless of where held. Excludes the value of inventories held by the establishment but owned by others.
Data are shown in thousands of dollars ($1,000).
Sector-Specific Information:
Manufacturing and Mining Sectors
When using inventory data by stage of fabrication for (all industries) and at the three-digit subsector level, it should be noted that an item treated as a finished product by an establishment in one industry may be reported as a raw material by an establishment in a different industry. For example, the finished-product inventories of a steel mill would be reported as raw materials by a stamping plant. Such differences are present in the inventory figures by stage of fabrication shown for all publication levels. LIFO reserve is the difference between the current cost (e.g., First-In, First-Out (FIFO) of inventories (gross value) and the LIFO carrying value (net value).
Total inventories and three stages of fabrication were collected for the Manufacturing industry:
• finished goods
• work-in-process
• materials, supplies, parts, fuels, etc.
Total inventories and two stages of fabrication were collected for the Mining industry:
• mineral products, crude petroleum, and natural gas liquids
• supplies, parts, fuels, etc.
Inventory valuation methods include:
• Subject to Last-in, First-out (LIFO) costing (including LIFO reserve and value)
• Not subject to LIFO costing
• Valuation method not reported
• Amount subject to LIFO reported without associated reserve and value
• First-in, first-out (FIFO) inventory costing
• Average cost
• Standard cost
• Other non-LIFO inventory
| Identifier | MLC-T-ECS-001139 |
|---|---|
| Field | Economic statistics |
| References | U.S. Census Bureau Glossary |
Record as JSON
{
"id": "MLC-T-ECS-001139",
"term": "Materials and/or supplies, parts, fuels, etc. inventories, end of year ($1,000)",
"field": "Economic statistics",
"definition": "The total value of merchandise inventories owned on December 31st of the reporting year (and/or the prior year if applicable), regardless of where held. Excludes the value of inventories held by the establishment but owned by others.\n\nData are shown in thousands of dollars ($1,000).\n\nSector-Specific Information:\n\nManufacturing and Mining Sectors\n\nWhen using inventory data by stage of fabrication for (all industries) and at the three-digit subsector level, it should be noted that an item treated as a finished product by an establishment in one industry may be reported as a raw material by an establishment in a different industry. For example, the finished-product inventories of a steel mill would be reported as raw materials by a stamping plant. Such differences are present in the inventory figures by stage of fabrication shown for all publication levels. LIFO reserve is the difference between the current cost (e.g., First-In, First-Out (FIFO) of inventories (gross value) and the LIFO carrying value (net value).\n\nTotal inventories and three stages of fabrication were collected for the Manufacturing industry:\n\n• finished goods\n\n• work-in-process\n\n• materials, supplies, parts, fuels, etc.\n\nTotal inventories and two stages of fabrication were collected for the Mining industry:\n\n• mineral products, crude petroleum, and natural gas liquids\n\n• supplies, parts, fuels, etc.\n\nInventory valuation methods include:\n\n• Subject to Last-in, First-out (LIFO) costing (including LIFO reserve and value)\n\n• Not subject to LIFO costing\n\n• Valuation method not reported\n\n• Amount subject to LIFO reported without associated reserve and value\n\n• First-in, first-out (FIFO) inventory costing\n\n• Average cost\n\n• Standard cost\n\n• Other non-LIFO inventory",
"references": [
"U.S. Census Bureau Glossary"
],
"url": "https://mlchart.com/terminology/economic-statistics/materials-and-or-supplies-parts-fuels-etc-inventories-end-of-year-1000/"
}
Record 1,121 of 2,141 in Economic statistics terminology (MLC-0116). Request the full dataset.